top of page

PLAYTIME WITH HUMPHREY

I became the proud owner of a Flower Horn in March of this year. I have always wanted one but just wasn't sure how I would fit one in. As it turned out it was a situation of, the right place and time. I ended up with a lovely adult Flower Horn and a 150 gallon aquarium in the bargain.

Humphrey as I named him, is just under two years old. He's a Zhen Zuh species and I have totally fallen in love with him.

Humphrey, I was told was very aggressive and will bite so I must be careful cleaning his aquarium. I was cautious at first but over time we have bonded and now we spend time playing together.

We play at least once a day if not more. Anytime I approach his tank he's so excited and interactive. He's constantly watching everything that goes on. He not only watches me but he also watches Ozzy my dog and Finn my cat playing. They often play on the floor right in front of Humphrey's tank. Humphrey sits in the bottom corner watching, swishing his tail and bobbing up and down. You can see how interested he is in the other animals.

I posted a short video on Facebook of Humphrey and I playing. I was surprised with the responses I got. I was told I am stressing him out. I was also told I will damage his slime coat by touching him. Some said he was trying to get me out of his aquarium and being aggressive.

I have learned as I go with Humphrey. I disagree with all the negative comments. There are many videos of aggressive Flower Horns that will attack you as soon as you go close to the tank. There are also many videos of people interacting with their Flower Horns just as I do with Humphrey. When I approach his aquarium you can see he gets excited and wants to play. He scoots to the surface looking for me. Yes sometimes it's for food but often he's been fed and still wants to see me. We have a special bond and I will continue to play with Humphrey knowing it's something we both enjoy.

I should mention I did look for information on interaction with Flower Horns and couldn't find anything for or against playtime. All I can say is that we have become friends and love sharing playtime. Have a look and let me know what you think.

bottom of page