top of page

LOCATION MATTERS

When I first got my Geos back in September I decided to give them the 75 gallon in the center of the room. I moved Humphrey to the corner tank. My original thought was that it would be good for Humphrey to be nice and close to my 150 gallon so he could watch the AC. He is very nosey and loves to watch everything going on around him. I thought of him when making this decision, but it seems fish bore Humphrey. As it turns out, I just don't think Humphrey is as happy in the corner tank.

I play with Humphrey daily after feedings. When he was in the corner tank, he was always in the front corner watching me, the cats and Ozzy not paying any attentions to the 150. I started noticing he didn't use the entire tank and was always hanging out where he had the best view of the room.

While I was making the big move, it was the perfect time to make this change as well. Moving Humphrey back to the middle of the room has made him so happy. This location gives him a great view of everything. For most fish I wouldn't consider this all that important. Flower Horns are so unique, intelligent, interactive and excitable they require a lot of stimulations to not only be happy but healthy as well. They really need to be included as part of the family. If they are down they won't eat, they can be moody just like children. Flower horns are truly an entity unto themselves.

Since being back in his original tank he seems so much happier. He is using the whole tank. Repeatedly swimming from one end to the other following me. I watch TV sitting beside his tank where he sits in the evenings watching TV.

I also removed his tank mates giving him the entire tank. The rocks and plants are just for his entertainment. Although he hasn't moved anything around. He's so interested in everything going on. I always say he's so smart. Well his favourite sport seems to be football. When the games are on he is glued to the TV. Good thing I moved him - He will need this front row seat for the Super Bowl.

bottom of page