top of page

50 GALLON BREAKDOWN

This is my 55 gallon tropical fish community. I have an assortment of fish that seem to mesh really well. I have made a couple changes in stock to this tank over the weekend.

I picked up an albino bristle nose pleco as the clean up crew had the position of window washer open that really needed to be filled.

I removed my 9 black skirt tetras. That's something I have been wanting to do for quite sometime. They are now living at my neighbors. It's great having friends who have as many or more tanks than I have who are always willing to add more fish to their collection.

In their stead I added 20 neon tetras. A good size school of neons is a wonderful addition to a community tank giving it that splash of colour! I also moved my 3 guppies from my planted jar to this tank. For some reason I can only find 2. I did a thorough clean yesterday. I think he may have become lunch for my python.

The stock in this tank consists of

5 angelfish 1 ropefish 2 white rainbow sharks and a black one. 6 emerald green corycats 2 panda corys 3 albino corys 8 lampeye tetras 20 Neon tetras 2 guppies 3 apple snails

And my albino bristle nose pleco

To break down this aquarium I'll take you from start to finish.. Beginning with my substrate I have 1/2 pool filter sand and 1/2 fine gravel mixed.

The driftwood I have is one I picked up on a hike last summer. A couple large stones to keep it from floating - yes it still floats.

Some plastic plants and décor complete the setup.

On this tank I have an awesome reticulated sponge filter that is rated for 100 gallons. All my tanks have these filters and I love them. I also run an Eheim Classic Canister filter rated for up to 92 gallons.

Next you can see at the back I have a power head that I have setup as a polisher. I find running a polisher when you feed chuncky food like shrimp bits helps enormously to keep the water clean and crystal clear. Finally I have an Eheim 200 watt heater and an LED bar for lighting.

This tank is the most work for me to clean with all the décor. I do 50% water changes weekly. I only remove the décor and vacuum every other week. I clean my canister every 3 months and the floss in my polisher every few days.

I often think of doing something different with this tank. It's been home to many different fish but the community that are here now are a pleasure to watch. For now I'll just enjoy it with the lovely school of neon tetras I just added.

bottom of page