top of page

MALAWI MBUNA AGGRESSION

My largest tank is 150 gallons and home to my African Mbuna Cichlids. They are the most aggressive of all cichilds but they are also my very favourite. These cichlids are vibrant in colour and demonstrative in personality. They are not accepting of new tank mates and will often target new fish to the point of death.

They live in a hierarchy society. It's very interesting to see new fish find there position within that community. There is always a tank boss who is in control of the tank. He, more often than she, has a second in command. The others follow the hierarchy each finding their own place on the proverbial totem pole.

Often a tank boss will become so aggressive he needs to be removed from the tank. I had a tank boss just like that. When my Mbuna were in my 75 gallon aquarium I had a large Super Albino Zebra I called Brute, who ruled the tank. He became so aggressive I put him in a time out a few times. It seemed to help, but soon he reverted back to his overly aggressive nature.

Super Red Albino Zebra - Brute

I finally admitted I had to rehome him. Once Brute was removed within a few days I had a new tank boss. My Pearl Zebra stepped up and took over the duties. He's been a wonderful boss. As long as the others don't intrude on his cave he leaves everyone alone. He's not mean and not a bully like Brute was. With Brute it got so bad that he would man 2/3's of the tank, leaving the 1/3 for all the remaining fish.

Talking to my neighbor we decided Brute would move in with his larger cichlids. That was a year ago. Brute did well. I often popped over to check on him. He's a stunning fish and seemed to have mellowed out.

My neighbor was redoing his aquariums this week. As it turned out he didn't have a place for Brute. He asked me if I would like him back. Of course I did.. he's a beautiful Mbuna. In the time Brute was gone I had moved my Mbuna into my 150 gallon aquarium. With the aquarium being so large, having double the room and more fish I believed Brute would be ok.

My neighbor also brought me half a dozen Yellow Labs at the same time. It's crucial when adding new fish to a cichlids tank, that they are added in groups of no less than four or more to spread out the new fish initiation.

Pear Zebra - Ghost my new tank boss

I added the seven new fish all at once. I watched their interaction and the reception they received. Immediately my tank boss was all over Brute. I suppose because of his size being at least an inch smaller, my new tank boss saw him as a threat. Brute hid behind filter output and seemed to be left alone there. I thought this was ok and he would be fine in time.

Three hours later I found Brute dead. Malawi Mbuna are fiercely aggressive and protective of their home and community to the point of death. This was the first time my tank boss hurt any other fish. His name is Ghost but I may have to rethink that.

bottom of page