top of page

WATER CHANGE PROCESS

This is my 150 gallon Mbuna community .

Because this aquarium is over stocked, I have been doing 70% water changes every 5 days. I clean the inner glass, vacuum and do whatever filter may need cleaning depending on their schedule. I also do a mid-week top-up sometimes two.

Supply list for water changes :

- python or siphon - submersible pump

- towels and more towels

- pails

- scrubby

- paper towel

- glass cleaner - Epsom salts

- water conditioner

- my ladder

The first thing I do is lay down my towels around the tank. I am notorious for overflowing.

I remove the lights and lids and set them aside for cleaning.

Attach my submersible pump to my python hose and start to siphon the water. I lay the end in the shower and allow it to empty in there.

Draining my 150 takes a little time so I use that time to observe my fish. I look for anything unusual, clamped fins, loss of colour, cowering in the corners, lack of appetite and if any females are holding.

My next step would be to clean my sponge filter or one of the FX4'S I have running on this aquarium if it's their turn. My FX4'S I only clean once every four months alternating 2 months between them. The sponge filter I clean once a month again alternating with my canisters. All filtration is cleaned in used tank water. If I will be doing this I just fill a couple pails and set it aside until I'm ready to use it. If you rather not use dirty tank water you can use water fresh from the tap as long as you use conditioner and remove any additives that may harm your bacteria.

By this time the water level is low enough for me to vacuum the sand substrate. I don't vacuum very often. I am standing on a ladder to reach and I really hate ladders so to help with the waste I aim my power-heads to any dirty areas and cause enough disturbance so the debris enters the water column and my submersible pump sucks it up. The filters are still running as well so they will also pick up debris in the water column.

It's at this time I remove the rocks or change the scape only doing this once a month or so if that. Although I will if I find too much aggression. So far in this aquarium I have had no aggression problems other than Brute's death by tank boss a couple weeks back.

Adding fish during a water change is an optimal time. Everyone is excited so they don't pay much attention to the new additions. This is also a prime time to change up the scape. It gives the community time to check out their new digs and claim their homes while the new additions are free to check things out without too much hassle. It's really a win win.

The last thing I do before refilling is clean all the interior glass in the tank. I use a sponge with a scratchy pad on one side and sponge on the other. I also have a long handled scratchy that allows me to clean off any low parts around the substrate level that I can't reach.

While the water is draining I also prepare my conditioner and salt mixture that I'll be adding when the tank refills. I always add 1 tablespoon of Empsom salts to each 5 gallons of water that I'm replacing. Keep in mind you are not adding to the number of gallons within the tank. You only add to the amount of water you have removed. Adding a little more is not harmful so don't get excited if you added too much.

Once I am satisfied with everything I begin refilling the tank. I still gauge my temp by feeling the water with my hand and sometimes need to adjust it a time or two. I'm gotten pretty good at it but an inline thermometer is something I could really use.

As the tank fills, I add the conditioner I mixed up in three stages. Then it's just a matter of waiting for it to finish filling and I can clean the exterior glass, lids, and wipe down all the edges of the frame. This waiting stage is when I get busy with something else and often hear that water hitting the floor sound! Then I know I'm done.. And my floors are cleaned too. Finally I clean the glass and then sit to watch my fish play in their new digs. You can tell just by watching them how much fresh water means to them!!

bottom of page