top of page

AN AMAZING LESSON

We all make assumptions about things. Often our assumptions are just that. Something that we take for granted or presuppose. It’s not wrong to assume things as it’s a part of how we deal with life. For an example, the dog whines at the door, we assume he wants out. So in that case it’s something we have learned and our assumption is correct.

However, there are times when we make assumptions and find out surprisingly that we are wrong. This was my assumption and I was so surprised when I found out how wrong I was. My girl friend is the same age as me. We have totally different lives. We are both married, have children and grandchildren but that’s about as similar as our lives are. Me…I’m your average mid-age woman. I get my hair colored regularly but that is probably the only thing I do to pamper myself. I’m just me. Nothing special – ordinary. I have been a single mom making my way in the world, raising my sons. I have worked to support us and continue to work to contribute to our home and financial needs. We live a modest simple life. We do not have a cottage, or a boat, or fancy cars, or take luxurious vacations, or dress to the nines and dine out. None of that is part of our lives. Like I said we are simple people with simple needs and enjoy life as it is.

Having said that, I have never experienced the “green eyed monster”. I don’t think there’s a jealous bone in my body. I love my life and I am incredibly happy for anyone’s good fortune. I never wish I had this or that. I am truly happy for what I have. With all my heart I believe the most precious thing in life is to be loved and to love in return. If you are loved and love back – you are wealthy beyond measure.

My Friend…We are only a few months apart in age. She’s been married to her hubby for almost 30 years. He has always taken care of her, filling her needs so she doesn’t have to. She is a beautiful woman, with lovely blond hair, a gorgeous tiny figure, and manicured nails and always dressed beautifully, even in her “play clothes”. She teaches a couple aerobics classes at the gym, which she gets paid for but she does it because she loves it. She can go in any store anywhere and buy anything she likes and not even have to look at the tag. Yes they are well off. They have a cottage, and fancy cars, and all the luxuries in life. If she’s bored she can go shopping, or redecorate or do whatever she likes. Aside from all of this she is a wonderful amazing person. What I like to call "real people".

So here’s my assumption. I had always assumed her life was perfect and that she enjoyed all her free time and the fun things she got to do. I can’t imagine having a life like that. One without worries, work related stress, or any of the normal everyday issues I deal with. One night we had a few drinks and got chatting quite seriously about life. She told me she envies me. I was totally blown away by that statement. Me!! She envies me??? She told me she's never had a real job, and has no idea what it even feels like to have to get up and go to work. She’s never earned money to help out the family and feel needed. In her eye’s I’m lucky that I “get to” go out, earn money and do something useful, all the while spending time out with other people doing the same thing.

It broke my heart when she told me there are days when she feels like there’s no reason for her to get out of bed in the morning. No one really cares. She’s not needed. This is what she shared with me. I can tell you that conversation has never left me. It taught me so much, not just about how wrong my assumption was, but that I needed to take a good look at my own life.

I may grumble and complain at times (although it’s exceedingly rare). Haha! I realize that no matter what we have or what our lot in life, we all have issues to deal with. We all have problems, we all have feelings, and we have needs that must be filled to make us feel whole. Above all we have an indisputable desire to be needed. Please take a moment and look at your own life. Realize that you are very blessed. Even if what you have is meager, you have something to be thankful for. Concentrate on that… I for one am very thankful for this lesson…

bottom of page